YVES’ PROMISE

SAT 21.07.
8 pm
DOMHOF

D 2017 · 79 Min. · Dokumentary
Director Melanie Gärtner
Language German with ger. SUB

Frustrated by a corrupt system, Yves leaves his home in Cameroon to try his fortune in Europe. But to get there is more difficult than expected. Yves has been on the road for eight years – and is close to failing. Back home are the people who mean the most to him: his sister Annie, who has been holding the family together since Yves left, his little brother, waiting for Yves to take him to Europe, and his father, who expects him to lead the family to a better life. A film about family, the dream of Europe and the impossibility of giving up.

Director
Melanie Gärtner

Screenplay
Melanie Gärtner

Director of photography
Pola Sell, Melanie Gärtner

Editing
Christine Niehoff, Mirja Gerle

Score
Ludwig Kuckartz, Siriki Coulibaly

Sound design
Roger Mboupda, Romeo Zaf

Lighting

Producer
Sebastian Popp, Robert Malzahn

Studio
m-eilenweit & stoked film

Biografie der Regisseurin

Melanie Gärtner studied anthropology, literature an journalism in Frankfurt am Main and Berlin. Since 2010 she acts under the label of m-eilenweit as freelance filmmaker and author. One of her main topics is migration, especially from Africa. Her first work, the documentary THE LAND IN BETWEEN, has been honoured several times. YVE’S PROMISE is her first full-length documentary which opens up yet another perspective on what it means to leave one’s home and family.

Filmografie der Regisseurin

  • Yves’ Versprechen – 70 min – 2017 – (Screenplay, Director) – First Appereance Competition IDFA 2017
  • Malaysia for me is … – 15 min – 2016 – (Director, Camera),
  • Just Another Chinese Guy – 20 min – 2015 – (Director, Camera)
  • Im Land Dazwischen – 2012 – 60 min – (Regie, Kamera) Nomination Deutscher Menschenrechtsfilmpreis 2012, 1st Prize LICHTER Filmfest 2013, Audience Award GRENZLAND Filmtage Selb 2013, Popp & Bergmann Young Talent Award 2014

YVES’ VERSPRECHEN

SA 20.07.
20 UHR
DOMHOF

D 2017 · 79 Min. · Dokumentarfilm
Regie Melanie Gärtner
Sprache Deutsch mit dt. UT

Yves sitzt in Spanien fest. Es geht weder vorwärts noch rückwärts. Vor acht Jahren ist er in Kamerun aufgebrochen, um in Europa ein neues Leben zu beginnen. Seitdem hat die Familie nichts von ihm gehört. Die Filmemacherin Melanie Gärtner zeichnet Videobotschaften von Yves auf, reist damit nach Kamerun und trifft dort seine Familie. Bei all der Erleichterung über das Lebenszeichen von Yves werden aber auch Erwartungen laut. Yves hat es schließlich ins gelobte Europa geschafft. In den Augen seiner Familie kann nur er nun ihr Leben noch zum Besseren wenden. Er darf nicht scheitern, denn eine Rückkehr ist ausgeschlossen.

Regie
Melanie Gärtner

Drehbuch
Melanie Gärtner

Kamera
Pola Sell, Melanie Gärtner

Schnitt
Christine Niehoff, Mirja Gerle

Musik
Ludwig Kuckartz, Siriki Coulibaly

Ton
Roger Mboupda, Romeo Zaf

Licht

Produzent
Sebastian Popp, Robert Malzahn

Produktionsfirma
m-eilenweit & stoked film

Biografie der Regisseurin

Melanie Gärtner studierte Ethnologie, Literatur und Journalismus in Frankfurt am Main und Berlin. Seit 2010 ist sie unter dem Label m-eilenweit als Filmemacherin und freie Autorin tätig. Auf die Geschichten rund um Flucht und Migration stieß sie auf ihren Reisen durch Westafrika und den Maghreb. Ihr Regiedebüt feierte sie mit dem mittellangen Dokumentarfilm IM LAND DAZWISCHEN (2012) über die Situation in der spanischen Exklave Ceuta. Der abendfüllende Dokumentarfilm YVES’S VERSPRECHEN eröffnet eine weitere, eigene Perspektive darüber, was es für einen Menschen bedeutet, Heimat und Familie zu verlassen.

Filmografie der Regisseurin

  • Yves‘ Versprechen – 70 min – 2017 – (Buch, Regie) – First Appereance Competition IDFA 2017
  • Malaysia for me is … – 15 min – 2016 – (Regie, Kamera),
  • Just Another Chinese Guy – 20 min – 2015 – (Regie, Kamera)
  • Im Land Dazwischen – 2012 – 60 min – (Regie, Kamera) Nominierung Deutscher Menschenrechtsfilmpreis 2012, 1. Preis LICHTER Filmfest 2013, Publikumspreis GRENZLAND Filmtage Selb 2013, Popp & Bergmann Nachwuchspreis 2014
Scroll to Top