About the Film Festival

The first international film festival WaLa dealt with »Safety in Afghanistan«.

The WaLa International Film Festival Ladenburg tries to present a truthful picture with impressive films and encounter with remarkable people and to convey causes for the lost human dignity. The extraordinary film festival is thus not only a cultural event, but at the same time inhibit integration, by dismantling fears of meeting and inviting people to turn to other cultures and to understand their realities in life.

Each year, the festival focuses on a specific topic with a view to human dignity. In the premiere year, this was »Safety in Afghanistan«. The political situation in Afghanistan has not only brought a life as a nightmare in this country, but the political and social strategies around the world have been forced into it.

From July 19 to July 22, 2019, the International WaLa Film Festival Ladenburg will be continued with the hopeful title »A Piece of Happiness« as part of the search for the lost human dignity. Humanitarian issues with the dignity of the human being will continue to be the focal points of the festival in the coming years.

History

From the beginning of our stay in Ladenburg in 2013 until the completion of our new accommodation, 180 refugees of various nationalities were to use the building of the old Martins School as asylum home for six months.
These six months of our lives were marked by immense commitment on the part of the citizens of Ladenburg, and at the end of this short six-month period I deeply felt the heart-warming affection of Ladenburg so strong that this city became my new home in my homelessness.
At the end of these six months, all the refugees were taken to another city, but my cooperation with Ladenburg and the citizens was even greater than before.
Therefore, the feeling arose for me that I took responsibility for the well-being of the city and I want to give something back.
Therefore, I have designed the WaLa International Film Festival with great commitment to my new home. The Ladenburg Festival is intended to be a Valuable and rewarding service for my new home, a major step in the development of culture and the arts.

The name “WaLa” came from the initial syllables of my old homeland — Warras in Afghanistan — and my new home Ladenburg. The Persian word »Wala« means »the highest and the best«. In the figurative sense, it stands for the dignity of man as his highest good. This human dignity has been lost in many civilizations.
As a symbol of the unshakable human dignity, the flower »Warras« came out from my home region, which grows even where nobody would believe it’s possible.

Sincerely

Mohammad Hassan Nazeri

The WaLa Team

Festival Management

The director of the Festival, Mohammad Hassan Nazeri, born in 1972, produced documentaries, including on the situation of women, children and minorities in Afghanistan, the conference led to the reconstruction of the Afghanistan’s cinema and film scene, took part on numerous festival juries (including the International Film Festival »Banff« in Canada), founded the »House of Afghan Film and Theater« (HAFT) and worked as a lecturer at the University of Kabul. In Germany, the creative artist gives lectures on the situation in Afghanistan, produced short Films for NDR, SWR and the Media Center of the University of Freiburg. He is involved in the choir at the National Theater in Mannheim and as well as in the ensemble »Theater of the World« and acted in the play »A View from the Bridge« at the National Theater Mannheim.

Our Team

Festival Management 
M. Hassan Nazeri

Festival Team
Sabine Weil
Dr. Nicole Nessling
Rainer Ziegler
Thomas Gaisbauer
Renate Grams

Treasurer
Michaela Jaschke

Graphic design
Myriam Kühn

Technical support
Alexander Mohr

Web Admin
Stefan Weil

PR   
Caroline Fuchs

Social Media
Isabel Lochbühler

Translation into English
Lewis Osemudiamen Okoduwa

Our Sponsors

We would like to thank our donors and sponsors

• epicto GmbH Veranstaltungs- und Konferenztechnik
• Elke-Laszker-Tietz Stiftung
• ICL BK Giulini GmbH
• ZONTA Club Weinheim e.V.
• ROTARY – Hilfe Schriesheim – Lobdengau
• Stadt Ladenburg
• Jugendzentrum “Kiste”
• Evangelische Kirchengemeinde Ladenburg
• Edeka Keller Aktiv Markt
• Dr. Meinhard Georg

as well as all private donors from the bottom of our hearts for your generous support!

HORIZONTAL_Weinheim Area

Bank account
WaLa Freundschaft e. V.
Sparkasse Rhein-Neckar-Nord
IBAN DE 33670505050039807335
BIC MANSDE66XXX

Über das Filmfestival

Das WaLa Internationale Filmfestival Ladenburg versucht, mit beeindruckenden Filmen und Begegnungen mit bemerkenswerten Menschen ein wahrheitsgetreues Bild zu zeigen und Ursachen für die verloren gegangene Menschenwürde zu vermitteln. Das außergewöhnliche Filmfestival ist damit nicht nur eine kulturelle Veranstaltung, sondern gleichzeitig gelebte Integration, indem Begegnungsängste abgebaut und Menschen eingeladen werden, sich anderen Kulturen zuzuwenden und deren Lebenswirklichkeit zu verstehen.

Das Festival stellt jedes Jahr mit dem Blick auf die Würde des Menschen ein bestimmtes Thema in den Mittelpunkt. Im Premierenjahr war dies die »Sicherheit in Afghanistan«. Die politische Situation in Afghanistan hat nicht nur ein Leben wie im Alptraum in dieses Land gebracht, vielmehr sind die politischen und gesellschaftlichen Strategien in aller Welt dadurch in Zugzwang geraten.

Vom 19. Juli bis 22. Juli 2019 wird das Internationale WaLa Filmfestival Ladenburg mit dem hoffnungsvollen Titel »Ein Stück Glück« im Rahmen der Suche nach der verlorenen Menschenwürde seine Fortsetzung finden. Auch in den kommenden Jahren werden humanitäre Themen mit der Würde des Menschen im Zentrum die Schwerpunkte des Festivals sein.

Geschichte

Von Beginn unseres Aufenthaltes in Ladenburg 2013 an bis zur Fertigstellung unserer neuen Unterkunft, sollten 180 Flüchtlinge verschiedenster Nationalitäten sechs Monate das Gebäude der Alten Martinsschule als Asylheim benutzen.
Diese sechs Monate unseres Lebens waren von Seiten der Bürger Ladenburgs von immensem Engagement geprägt, und am Ende dieser kurzen sechsmonatigen Periode empfand ich im tiefsten Inneren die herzerwärmende Zuneigung von Ladenburg als so stark, dass diese Stadt zu meiner neuen Heimat in meiner Heimatlosigkeit wurde.
Am Ende dieser sechs Monate wurden alle Flüchtlinge in eine andere Stadt gebracht, aber meine Zusammenarbeit mit Ladenburg und den Ladenburgern war noch größer als zuvor.
Daher entstand das Gefühl bei mir, dass auch ich verantwortlich für das Wohlergehen der Stadt bin und ich etwas zurückgeben möchte.
Das WaLa Internationale Filmfestival habe ich daher mit großem Engagement für mein neues Zuhause konzipiert. Das Festival für Ladenburg soll ein wertvoller und lohnender Dienst für meine neue Heimat sein, ein großer Schritt in der Weiterentwicklung der Kultur und Kunst.

Der Name „WaLa“ entstand aus den Anfangssilben meiner alten Heimat — Warras in Afghanistan — und meiner neuen Heimat Ladenburg. Das persische Wort »Wala« bedeutet »das Höchste und Beste«. Im übertragenen Sinne steht es für die Würde des Menschen als sein höchstes Gut. Diese Menschenwürde ist in vielen Zivilisationen verloren gegangen.
Als Symbol für die unerschütterliche Menschenwürde steht die Blume »Warras« aus meiner Heimatregion, die selbst dort wächst, wo es niemand für möglich halten würde.
Sie ist stärker als jeder Stein. Sie erinnert uns daran, was die Menschheit erreichen kann.

Herzlichst
Mohammad Hassan Nazeri

Das WaLa Team

Festivalleitung

Der Leiter des Festivals, Mohammad Hassan Nazeri, geb. 1972, produzierte Dokumentarfilme, unter anderem über die Situation von Frauen, Kindern und über Minderheiten in Afghanistan, leitete die Konferenz zum Wiederaufbau der afghanischen Kino- und Filmlandschaft, saß in zahlreichen Festivaljurys (unter anderem beim Internationalen Filmfestival »Banff« in Kanada), gründete das »House of Afghan Film and Theater« (HAFT) und arbeitete als Dozent an der Universität in Kabul. In Deutschland hält der Kulturschaffende Vorträge über die Situation in Afghanistan, produzierte Kurzfilme beim NDR, SWR und beim Medien-Zentrum der Uni Freiburg. Er engagierte sich im Chor beim Nationaltheater Mannheim sowie im Ensemble »Theater der Welt« und spielte im Nationaltheater Mannheim mit  beim Stück »Ein Blick von der Brücke«.

Unser Team

Festivalleitung  
M. Hassan Nazeri

Festivalteam
Sabine Weil
Dr. Nicole Nessling
Rainer Ziegler
Thomas Gaisbauer
Renate Grams

Kassenwartin
Michaela Jaschke

Grafikdesign
Myriam Kühn

Technische Unterstützung
Alexander Mohr

Web-Admin
Stefan Weil

PR   
Caroline Fuchs

Social Media
Isabel Lochbühler

Übersetzung ins Englische
Lewis Osemudiamen Okoduwa

Unsere Sponsoren

Wir danken unseren Spendern und Sponsoren

• epicto GmbH Veranstaltungs- und Konferenztechnik
• Elke-Laszker-Tietz Stiftung
• ICL BK Giulini GmbH
• ZONTA Club Weinheim e.V.
• ROTARY – Hilfe Schriesheim – Lobdengau
• Stadt Ladenburg
• Jugendzentrum „Kiste“
• Evangelische Kirchengemeinde

sowie allen privaten Spenderinnen und Spendern von ganzem Herzen für
Ihre großzügige Unterstützung!

HORIZONTAL_Weinheim Area
image001

Bankverbindung
WaLa Freundschaft e. V.
Sparkasse Rhein-Neckar-Nord
IBAN DE 33670505050039807335
BIC MANSDE66XXX